Alternatives to bacon

Happy Tuesday everyone! 🙂

So today in the kitchens I was working on my bacon flavoured powder. I am now using a combination of soy sauce, olive oil, smoked paprika, garlic powder, smoked celeriac and sesame oil to create this. I mixed the liquids and powders together. Then I smoked the sliced celeriac to add flavour. The slices are placed in the oven until the edges start to blacken and then dehydrated overnight. The slices will be blitzed into a powder and sprinkled onto the kale. I will make crisps from the kale in the oven, blitz and then i have my bacon celeriac kale powder ready to be sprinkled on my popcorn.

Also making progress on my packaging 🙂 I have been kindly given samples from Nevpak.ie. I have chosen a small box which closes by folding flaps similar to a cereal box. I hope to place a circular sticker with my logo as a guarantee the box has not been tampered with or opened. I have asked a company to design a logo for my product as I do not have the software to do it myself. Looking forward to see what designs they’ll draw up for me 🙂 Our showcase is coming up soon on the 20th, it’s going to be very exciting!

#WITFoodInnovation

Until next time,

Gem x

Leave a comment